Au Revoir Paris

Well folks, the time has come.  I have left Paris to continue my journey this summer in London.

I can’t believe how incredibly fast the month went by. The amount of gratitude I have for being able to take this trip while still only 21 years old is simply incomprehensible.  Paris was an absolutely wonderful city, filled with many smells (both good and bad), fabulous food, beautiful sights, and I made some really incredible friends. I am one lucky girl.

Not surprisingly it was really hard to leave Paris. I became attached to the apartment we lived in, our neighborhood, and just having the feeling of living like a Parisian–no college campus feel, freedom to explore, and of course, taking the metro!

The last week of being in Paris literally flew by, and I don’t even know that I remember it all because the days began to blur together.  I do remember however, that I went to the Louvre museum (the famous one with the big glass Pyramid outside).  The artifacts, sculptures, paintings, etc… were all beautiful.  Of course, I saw work by Michelangelo, I saw the Mona Lisa, and the Egyptian exhibit was fascinating, full of sphnixes, hieroglyphics, and beautiful vases and jewelry.

The second major event that I have yet to blog about is my trip to Brugge, which in short, was one of my favorite days during my first month in Europe.  Despite rather crummy weather for most of the day there, spending time outside of the busy city of Paris was a great getaway.  We strolled along the canals that Brugge is famous for, took a boat tour, and enjoyed Belgian waffles and fries (not together of course).  This trip truly reaffirmed my desire to live just outside of a big city.  Brugge had great amenities like a big city, but still felt safe and comfortable. I know that is a brief description, but I will let the photos do the talking, so please check out the pictures from Brugge!

 Click below for more photos from Brugge, Belgium.

After returning to Paris from Brugge, I had a few more great experiences, one of which was visiting the Champs-Élysées. This is the large shopping street that leads to the Arc de Triomphe, another amazing architecturally beautiful monument by the French.

Click below for more photos from the Champs-Élysées

Another really amazing adventure I took in Paris was to visit the Père Lachaise cemetery. This is where Edith Piaf, Jim Morrison, Oscar Wilde, and hundreds more famous people are burried.  Although it seems a bit morbid to think this was cool, the actual grounds were really neat to see in person, and the trees made for some great photos.

 Click below for more photos from Père Lachaise

I know this isn’t a very good blogging thing to do, but I didn’t have the patience to load all the photos from the remainder of my trip into separate pages and go through to select the best ones, so I selected some of my favorites and put them into one large gallery. I know, I know, I will probably go to Blogger Purgatory.

  Click below for more photos of my miscellaneous adventures in Paris

Anywhoo….. France is over, but I still have another 3 weeks in Europe, visiting London and potentially Dublin for a weekend.  I will try to blog about that more frequently, but I make no promises as I am already exhausted and I have only been in London for a day and ahalf.  Regardless, remember to keep checking in to see when I write new posts about my adventures here.

June 25, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , . Paris.

One Comment

  1. London, baby! « Cappuccinos & Metros replied:

    […] and the atmosphere of the town was divine.  Once again, like my experience of going to Brugge, I realized just how much I love being just outside of the busy city.  Oxford’s campus, […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

