gardens. churches. six million parisians.

well hello everyone!

I thought I would post a quickie blog (not like the behemoth one from last time) to update everyone.  I have a midterm tomorrow in my media & conflict class, so I need to get studying, but here is the lowdown on what I’ve been up to since the last post.

USD students all went on a second “field trip,” to Chartres and Giverny on Thursday.  Chartres was an absolutely gorgeous Cathedral with spectacular stained glass windows, all of which tell their own story.  The town itself was equally as cute from what we saw, but the cold weather sent us inside.  The bus ride between Chartres and Giverny was possibly the most relaxing part of this trip as of yet.  I remembered to bring my best friend (my iPod) with me on the trip, so as we drove through some of the most gorgeous countryside I have ever seen, I was able to let my mind wander while rockin’ out to some tunes.  After driving over a bridge in a huge charter bus–anyone who knows me, is aware that bridges and I aren’t exactly best friends–and then taking a short walk, we arrived at Monet’s gardens.  Many of you may be familiar with his paintings of the lily pond–this is where we went.  The gorgeous flowers planted everywhere around his home, including the ones surrounding the pond were absolutely gorgeous and the setting was simply tranquil.  If there had been time (and if it was allowed), having a picnic among the flowers would have been ideal.  Sorry to have rambled on, I promised to make this short, so please check out the links below to see some of the photos from Chartres and Giverny.

 

Click below for more photos from Chartres

Click below for more photos from Giverny/Monet’s garden

Another really amazing tourist sight that I encountered here in Paris in the last week, were the catacombs.  For those of you who don’t know, the catacombs hold the remains of over six million Parisians.   The experience of passing millions of bones in tiny walkways is impossible to describe.  At a certain point, you don’t actually process that the “walls” you are walking past are not walls at all, but stacks and stacks of femurs, tibias, fibulas, and skulls.  The particularly “freaky” aspect of this excursion was learning (afterward) that when walking through the catacombs, you are six stories underground!  You can check out the photos below, no worries they aren’t too scary.

Click below for more photos from the Catacombs

I have had some other really amazing adventures as well, but I just cannot put off studying for another minute, so check back in a few days and I will try to post some pictures and info about my journeys.

June 12, 2011. Tags: , , , , . Paris.

One Comment

  1. Dad replied:

    Imagine Halloween 6 stories underground in Paris. EEEEEKK!! Great pics. Good luck with the midterm on Monday. Hopefully in the week ahead you’ll get more time in the neighborhoods of Paris, cool places along the Seine, and views of some of the striking architecture of Paris (and Versailles). Weather looks ho-hum part of the week ahead….good on other days. Typical June in Paris. Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

