Cappuccinos & Metros

Hi there friends, family, and other random blog surfers!

As you can tell I’ve decided to start blogging again.  I decided that since I don’t have the funding to call all of you while I’m abroad, blogging to share my experiences with you is probably the next best thing! 🙂  As most of you probably know, I am headed to both Paris and London this summer for a study abroad trip.  I am so excited to travel to new cities, and take in the wonders that I know they have to offer.  So, the countdown begins: there are 24 days until I board a plane (or three) to Paris–exciting stuff!!

Hope everyone is well, and make sure to leave me suggestions of destinations to see or activities I simply cannot miss.

~M

May 5, 2011. Tags: , , , , . London, Paris.

2 Comments

  1. rosemary replied:

    Can’t wait to hear about your adventures!

  2. Whit replied:

    Hey Girl! I’m so excited for you!
    As I was just in London i have a few suggestions!
    Go and get the Rick Steves London Book, it gives really good advice and even gives you discounts on some things.
    For sure go on a Double Decker bus tour on the “Original Tour” it is a little cheaper and gives you more flexibility than Big Bus tours.
    One afternoon go have afternoon tea at the National Gallery Cafe- not the big dining room it costs double for the same thing. Try the fresh mint tea it is really yummy 🙂
    If you want to go to Westminster Abbey (Which I’m assuming you do) Go to Church service on a Sunday Morning at 11:15am. This is the service with the choir and is AMAZING!
    If you want to go on the London Eye- buy your ticket through the Original Tour when you buy your tour ticket. It is discounted and gives you 90 days to use it.
    The London Bridge is not that exciting, go to the Tower bridge instead. Oh! Also on the Original Tour ticket you get a free river cruise which can take you all the way to Greenich- it is a total of 90min cruise so if you want to go make sure you have a full day.
    Oh! at the London Eye 4D experience make sure you wear cloths that are not really nice as it uses bubbles to create a snow experience. hhahahaha I was VERY mad. 🙂
    Thats all for now but I’m sure that I will think of other things to tell you!
    PS (I thought of more things.) Get an Oyster Card first thing. It saves you time and money. Take the buses as much as you can as you only pay one fare instead of taking the underground. People in London LOVE Italian food. there are a million chains. Go to the Portabello Market in Notting Hill on Friday not Saturday- it is less crowed and has just as much stuff! 🙂
    Talk to you soon!
    Whit

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

